…now a museum. Discover the Old Court Room including the dock as it was used until 1886, with the prison cells, exercise yard & Tudor window on the ground floor below.
There has been a court house and gaol in Pevensey since Tudor times, although the origin of this building is uncertain. It also came to serve as the town hall.
The timber ceiling is mainly 17th century. The entrance porch, exercise yard and prison cells, including the adjacent robing room, were added circa 1830 when the building was in urgent need of upgrading.
The court furniture including the dock remain in place as they were last used in 1886, when the Corporation ceased to exist.
Open May 1st though October 15th – plus half-term and April openings (below)
Wednesdays to Fridays and Bank Holidays 11 – 4
Weekends 1.30 – 4.00pm
Half term opening Saturday and Sunday 23 & 24 February
1.00 – 4.00 pm
From 6 April, open Saturdays and Sundays
Including 4 day Easter break
1.30 – 4.00 pm
FREE ENTRY ALL YEAR
For 2019 – “Pevensey in the two World Wars ” and ‘Pevensey and the Cinque ports’
|Booked groups are welcome throughout the year, please telephone 01323 733419.
Find us near the main car park and St. Nicolas Church
Served by local buses and trains
Well behaved dogs welcome!
Information sheets in several languages
Check website for Half Term Openings
Under 16’s to be accompanied by an adult
Telephone: 01323 733419 or 01323 760581
© Pevensey Town Trust 2015 – 2018